Starliege Magician Academy

An academy for all who seek to become better duelists.
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
MENU
Game Station
-----------
Latest topics
» Activity Guys!
by White Fox Wed Dec 24, 2014 9:55 am

» Help Guys!!!!
by AvatarOfGusto Mon Dec 22, 2014 11:01 pm

» Is the forum dead?
by White Fox Tue Nov 25, 2014 11:04 am

» Goodbye, graveyard forum
by xekoz2 Mon Nov 24, 2014 12:30 pm

» Name a Card Game!
by QueenLeo139 Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:20 am

» I'm here, I guess.
by xekoz2 Fri Nov 14, 2014 8:51 pm

» Introduction thing
by Princess Hyakka Fri Nov 14, 2014 4:17 pm

» Duelingnetwork
by PrincessFairy Fri Nov 14, 2014 2:38 pm

» [Girls]Miyuki-chan's Test Result
by xekoz2 Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:50 pm

Most Viewed Topics
YGOpro/DEVpro sleeves
Ghostrick Guide
Princess Hyakka's Deck Garage
Shiver in fear D:
Infernoids Discussion
Name a Card Game!
Forum Rules
Testing Rubric
Death the Kid Results
The Struggles of Being a Girl on DN
Affiliates

free forum

Forumotion on Facebook Forumotion on Twitter Forumotion on YouTube Forumotion on Google+



Share | 
 

 Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Death the Kid

avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2014-11-10

PostSubject: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 3:38 am






Inherent and Non Inherent
Which Summon is what?



This Article will be about something that a lot of people don't yet understand. It explains why cards cannot be used in a certain situation, and why other cards can. The situation this is going to be about, is the Summon of a Monster.


As we all know, Yu-Gi-Oh! has an excessive amount of Special Summon capabilities. Examples, are Summons by card effects, Xyz, Synchro, Fusion, or Ritual. Even though all of these Summons are considered Special Summons, there is something else that separates one type of Special Summon from the other type.


The two types of Special Summon are Inherent and Non Inherent. People who just started the game, or just came back, will hear this, and have no clue as to what they mean, and will just consider Special Summons as Special Summon, and be done with it. But there is a very distinct difference between those two.

The point in this matter, and the rule where it all is based upon, is the fact that while a chain, action, or card effect is resolving, you cannot use any cards or effects, unless they say so (e.g. Bountiful Artemis). this is a very basic rule, and is usually forgotten by beginning players, but also by the more experienced ones. It's this rule that also causes cards to "Miss Timing".


So, how does that rule make a difference in a Summon Type? Well, as said just above, you cannot use any cards or effects while an action, chain, or effect is resolving. So, we have several different cases where a Monster can be Special Summoned.


Inherent Summons





There is, what is called the "Inherent Summon", the Summon of monsters which just are Summoned, such as, Synchro Summon, Xyz Summon or some other cards, like "Cyber Dragon" or "Black Luster Soldier - The Envoy of the Beginning". They just need a condition to be fulfilled, then they can be Summoned. The example of "Cyber Dragon" is that it requires you to have no Monsters, and your opponent to have at least 1 Monster. This is called a "Summoning Condition".


Non Inherent Summons





The Special Summons that are not Summoned like above mentioned, are considered "Non Inherent", as you might have guessed. What differs them, is that these are not just Summoned, but they are Summoned by an effect that activates. Examples for this are Fusion Summon and Ritual Summon. This means, that you have to activate a card or card effect, in order to Summon the intended Monster.

Now, the two Summons Inherent and Non Inherent are fairly explained, but what you might not yet know, is why you can use cards like "Black Horn of Heaven" or "Thunder King Rai-Oh" on Inherent Summons, but not on Non Inherent Summons.

I asked a friend to help me with giving some possible situations where you see the different Summons.

Mechanic 1 - Image:
 

This is the first that'll be handled. It concerns the simple situation that you attack your opponent with a Monster, in this case "Thunder Kind Rai-Oh". After I took the Battle Damage, I use the effect of my "Gorz, the Emissary of Darkness" from my hand, and Special Summon it. This is an Effect that activates, here is the key to why you cannot use "Black Horn of Heaven". While Gorz's effect is resolving, and Summons itself to the field, it is still in the process of resolving a card effect. And at that given time, that you Summon him to the field, "Black Horn of Heaven" is trying to activate in order to negate that Summon. But, as already mentioned, you are not allowed to activate cards or card effects while a chain, action, or effect is resolving. Which, in this case, is Gorz's own effect. So, because he is still resolving, you cannot use "Black Horn of Heaven", because it would only negate the Summon.

Now you might wonder, why can't you just chain it on the effect of Gorz? Simple as it is, when Gorz activates, nothing is being Summoned. It is an effect that activates. Which now brings us to another card that is able to negate Summon, know to many. "Solemn Warning".

Mechanic 2 - Image:
 


In this case, instead of using "Black Horn of Heaven", I use my copy of "Solemn Warning". Like with Black Horn, using it at the time when the Monster is actually Summoned, isn't allowed, for the same reason. But, if you read Warning's card text, you see something that Black Horn doesn't say. This:

Code:
When a monster would be Summoned, OR when a Spell Card, Trap Card, or monster effect is activated that includes an effect that Special Summons a monster(s): Pay 2000 Life Points; negate the Summon or activation, and if you do, destroy that card.

This allows Warning to chain on the effect of Gorz, which would Summon himself. Warning will resolve as Chain Link 2, and negate Gorz's activation and destroy it. The fact is, Warning can not only negate the Summon itself, but also cards that activate in order to Summon a Monster, such as "Monster Reborn" or "Abyss-sphere". Since Black Horn or Rai-Oh don't have that in their card text, they are unable to do the same.


Now, you probably think that Rai-Oh and Black Horn are total trash, and not worth running in any deck. But they can still hit enough cards.

Mechanic 3 - Image:
 

Xyz Summons have no chance against them, not against Black Horn, and not against Warning.

Mechanic 4 - Image:
 


So, as you can see, there is a lot to say about the difference in Inherent Summons and Non Inherent Summons. But, how do you know when a Monsters Summon is Inherent or not? Well, you can always read the text and see if you can figure it out on your own, which most people tend to do. But, in case you are uncertain, you can just look it up here:

http://yugioh.wikia.com/wiki/Main_Page

Type in the name of the card you need to check, for example, Cyber Dragon. Click the card that you intend to look for, then scroll down a bit, until you see the following:

Spoiler:
 

If it says "Summon", it means that it is Inherent. If it says otherwise, for example "Ignition" or "Trigger" then it is a card effect that would Summon something.


Important note: A Summon by a Spell/Trap Card is always considered to be Non Inherent.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
PrincessFairy
Admin
avatar

Posts : 81
Join date : 2014-10-07
Age : 21

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:19 pm

you post this in the wrong place

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://starliegemagician.forumotion.com
Death the Kid

avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2014-11-10

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:32 pm

That moment when that's the only reply you get :l

I know I did. Since I'm not teacher or anything I figured I'd post it here.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
PrincessFairy
Admin
avatar

Posts : 81
Join date : 2014-10-07
Age : 21

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 2:59 pm

nah you still can lol

_________________
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://starliegemagician.forumotion.com
White Fox

avatar

Posts : 61
Join date : 2014-10-22
Age : 23
Location : Germany

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 5:00 pm

Yes Very Happy Someone besides me who writes articles x3
Back to top Go down
View user profile
xekoz2

avatar

Posts : 34
Join date : 2014-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Wed Nov 12, 2014 6:00 pm

Suprisingly this is one thing I DO know. :p
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Death the Kid

avatar

Posts : 16
Join date : 2014-11-10

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:09 am

Good that you know it. However there are many people who don't know it. For them, this might just be an eye opener they need to improve in the game. Hopefully it helps them.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
xekoz2

avatar

Posts : 34
Join date : 2014-11-02

PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:47 pm

Its true, also if you could make an article explaining summons that on a mechanical level happen at the same time: ie Pendulum summons all being banished w/bottomless trap hole
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons   

Back to top Go down
 
Article - Inherent and non Inherent Summons
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Article on Inherent and Non Inherent Summons
» Lesson 13: Inherent and Non Inherent Summons
» Doomlord article in the new SFX
» What is the Inherent Problems with Shadow Warriors?
» Link to Dynaco SCA-35 rebuild article - good information

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Starliege Magician Academy :: Academy Class Center :: Classroom-
Jump to: